Skip to content

PDN World in Focus

February 4, 2011

Now that the issue has come out, I am happy to announce that I made it in the 2011 PDN World in Focus Contest. Last summer I had the wonderful opportunity to visit Lebanon for two weeks with my family, so when it was submission time for the contest, I thought I had the perfect image to enter. And sure enough, it made it in. There is a story about this image, and it’s quite funny.

At the time my family was staying in Zahle Lebanon where my great grandparents were born.  I really wanted to wake up early one morning and venture around to take some sunrise pictures, so I hired a driver to pick me up at 6 am to take me around in different areas where I could do my thing. I also, requested an english speaking driver since I do not speak French or Arabic at all. So let’s just say the driver showed up at 6 am, and does not speak english what so ever. I tried to communicate my hardest to him where I wanted to go, but the poor guy had no idea what I was saying. He finally called his friend on the cell phone to help communicate, but it wasn’t working, and all this time I am getting more and more frusterated as I am losing great light. “Stop the cab,” I say, “I will just get out and walk,” I tell him. He looks concerned, but I grab my stuff, pay him for his time, and get out of the cab in an unknown location. I decided to walk aimlessly at this point up the hill and ahhhaaa, I have found what I am looking for. An adorable Lebanese village just waking up. As I walk around and take in what I am seeing, I come across this small raw butcher shop preparing for the day. I asked permission to take a few pictures, and that was that. I got my shot! All of that, getting lost in Lebanon, trying to talk to an Arabic cab driver who can’t underestand a word I am saying, and eventually trying to find my way back to the hotel. What an adventure, but it’s worth it because I made it in PDN.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 8:03 pm

    so proud of you!!!! Congrats!

  2. February 12, 2011 4:00 pm

    Congratulations on your great photo and back story. I am also a finalist but have not seen the magazine yet. Running out to get it shortly. Can’t wait to see all of the images. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

