Skip to content

Bits and pieces

April 7, 2010

Monday the 12th I sign off at PC. I will officially present my final portfolio and all my work form the past two years. It is pretty amazing to print out everything from the past two years and have it all laid out right in front of you. To try and edit down to your best pictures is hard enough, and then you have to lay out the flow of your book. How do you want it to look, what kind of story do you want to tell, what kind of pacing do you want, what do you want people to feel when they look at it, and last not but not least, what do you want to shoot? It is a lot to take into consideration. Trust me, I have shed many tears and accumulated many grey hairs over this process in the past three months, but it will all be done pretty soon. And then in a few months I get to start all over again with new stuff I have photographed. It is a never ending process my friends. But it sure does help to have wonderful friends and great mentors to help you along the way. It’s kind of bittersweet time. PC has been an incredible experience for me the past two years, and I am going to miss it. I really am. The people, the teachers, the crazy late night projects and early photo shoots, the hilarious stories. I was reading this book of mine tonight by Sabrina Ward Harrison and she talks about how you have to trust the mess. So anyways, here are a few things that stick out to me from her book.

Trust the mess, the not knowing… this is the real part. the most interesting part.

I absolutely hate the not knowing. I am a I want to know it all kind of girl, but I am definitely just rolling with the flow right now. And then I found this new quote which is I think is just perfect for the time right now.

I have a feeling that my boat has struck, down there in the depths, against a great thing.
And nothing
happens! Nothing…silence….waves…
Nothing happens? Or has everything happened,
and we are standing now, quietly, in the new life?
– Juan Ramon Jimenez

I truly love that right now. Graduation, the not knowing, endless possibilities. It’s like one bomb after another. But I am just taking day by day and soaking it all in. Now for some new stuff, here are a few new favorite pics I took of the very handsome Tim Young. When you get a great person to photograph, it is just so exciting! You start coming up with all these ideas and different shots, and then all of a sudden you have shot 16 GB of pictures. Literally, I shot that many pictures of Tim, so needless to say I had so many I loved it was very difficult to narrow down.

My favorite picture of Clay Nielson that I shot a few weeks ago. I had so many favorites of Clay as well, it was really hard to narrow them down. So I decided to just post my very favorite.

And last but not least, I photographed Evan and his fiance this past week for their Save The Date cards and they were so adorable! Talk about a loving couple. These are a few of my selects from our morning session.

I have so many more things to post but sadly I haven’t had a chance to go through everything yet.
Good Night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

