Skip to content

Happy New Year!!!

January 3, 2009

Well it is officially January 3rd, 2009! I can’t believe it. Happy New Year! Over the Holidays I tried to be as productive as I could be and at the same time rest and relax before school starts back again. I normally do not take too many pictures over the break, but I did this time. I practiced with some lighting on my dad’s friends, I went to Cades Cove at sunrise, and I went to my grandparents house in Big Stone Gap Virginia. It was a jam packed Christmas break this year, but a fun one.

Visiting my grandparents every year is always an adventure and there are certain things I will always remember. This year I decided to try and capture the small things I see every year, things I have seen since I was probably 2 years old. I know it sounds weird, but I know there will be a day when plans change or I have Christmas at my home, and I don’t want to ever forget what makes Christmas so special at my grandparents house.

_mg_8355

My grandmother collects teapots. She loves all kinds of teapots, and every time I go to Virginia I see a different one.

_mg_8369

My grandmother also collects perfume bottles.

_mg_8412

And, she collects porcelain baby dolls.


_mg_8435

This is my lovely grandmother, Kathleen Gillespie.

_mg_8423

This is my very sweet grandfather, Paul Bentle Gillespie. We call him P.B. though.

_mg_8464

The stairway I used to play on when I was little.

_mg_8468

The Christmas Tree

_mg_8478

The Winter Wonderland figurine house

It is crazy how you can see the same things every year and not think twice about it, but for some reason this year I really wanted to make sure I have the chance to remember those memories when I am older. I hope everyone had a great Christmas and has a wonderful start to the New Year!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

