Skip to content

Rutledge

December 18, 2008

Over the past three months I have been going back and forth to Rutledge Georgia to document and try to capture life in small town america. You are probably wondering why would I want to do that. Well A. I love small towns anyways and always meeting new people is a plus for me, and B. I was actually assigned this project for my photo essay class. Well I was assigned a small town and I picked Rutledge, which happened to be a great choice and it turned out to be one of my favorite projects to date. I really took the time to get to know the town. I went to the festivals there, I went just to visit, I went to go eat, I went at sunrise, and I went back more and more to get all kinds of pictures. I met the nicest most welcoming people and I could not have asked for a better experience. Pam, I am dedicating this posting to you. Pam owns The Barn Raising, a fantastic little antique and gift store where I got some really neat images.

These are some of my favorites from the past few months.
This was on my way into Rutledge one morning at Sunrise.

swamp

An old house at sunrise on my way to The Cotton Festival.

oldhouse

Some old chairs outside of an abandoned house in town.

chairs

The Caboose. An old part of a train that is now a great ice cream and deli shop right in the center of town.

caboose

Beauty chairs at Adrienne’s Salon on Main Street.

beauty

Details of the town.

detail_page

The newly remodeled Baptist Church and a regular member of the church.

church_spread

The Rutledge Grocery Store

grocery

Pam and Paul Jones at The Barn Raising

pam

My favorite gifts and objects at the store.

iron gun

skate

tv

Thanks again so much to everyone who was a huge help with the success of this project. I will try and get you copies of the images as soon as possible. Also, I entered the objects above into the PDN Student Annual contest, so please try and vote for them if you can. If you go to http://contest.pdnedu.com/bin/Rate and then go to page 5, scroll down till you see Catherine Isaac and the image of wooden children’s playing blocks. It’s a series of all my objects I shot at The Barn Raising in Rutledge.

Take care

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Naomi Reetz permalink
    January 4, 2009 2:40 am

    LOVE them!! These are absolutely GREAT!!

  2. Ed Hogan permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:01 am

    Nice cj see you again EJH

Leave a Reply

