Skip to content

Maybe, Just Maybe…

July 9, 2008

I have no idea what kind of photography I would like to go into, but maybe just maybe it’s food photography. Last quarter I had an assignment to shoot fruit, and even though I hated it at the time because I couldn’t get it right no matter what I did, it was one of the best things for me. I honestly had no idea shooting food, fruit, vegetables, anything from the kitchen could be so difficult. The details, the lighting, the composition, the mood, the background, I had to learn really fast and by the time it was over I had re-shot fruit 8 or 9 times to get a composition I even liked. The rule is, if you don’t like it, no one else will. So I kept trying and trying to get something I was proud of. In the end, it was not perfect by any means, but I was proud of my accomplishments. Since then I have been studying a lot of different food photographers trying to see what they do, how they do it, what works for them, and how they got started. I am sure I will change my mind some where along the line for different fields in photography, but for now I am learning something new. My new favorite food photographer is France Ruffenach. I saw some of her work in some books published by Chronicle Books, and I had to look her up. She does some really beautiful food photography and even still life and portrait shots. Some of her clients include: Gap; Food & Wine; Elle Magazine; Martha Stewart; Pottery Barn; Red Envelope; Restoration Hardware; Travel & Leisure; and Williams-Sonoma. She even earned the James Beard Best Photography 2008 Award. Here are some of her images I really like.


Those are some of my favorites. Wouldn’t that be a great assistant job! Be sure to check her out here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

