Skip to content

Time Flies!

May 8, 2008

This is the 5th week into the quarter, and we don’t have too much longer to go. Time is just flying by. Before I know it I will be printing off all my projects for critique week. This week has been somewhat less stressful, but the days are still so long. Yesterday, I left my house at about 9 am and I didn’t get home until about 11. I was truly exhausted, and I mean exhausted. My brain was completely dead. However, we have had some cool things going on at school.

Last week we had Rei Inamoto from AKQA come and speak, and that was a fantastic presentation. I really enjoyed it, and while I know I don’t have what it takes to be in that type of Media production, it is so cool to actually see people who do it, and love it. AKQA is a HUGE company with offices in San Francisco, Amsterdam, New York, D.C., London and Shanghai. Take a look at their stuff because guarantee you have seen it before. Here is a list of all their clients.

This week we had the world renowned photographer Jay Maisel come to speak. It is such a great opportunity to really read about the designers or photographers who are coming, and it gives you a great chance to ask any questions. I couldn’t tell you how many images he showed us during his presentation, but each one of them was truly beautiful. He is known for his use of color, and I have to tell you I really do see things differently now. Especially when I am trying to find a shot for my sunrise/sunset photo. Before this week, I would always put too much pressure on myself to find the coolest shot ever. And then yesterday morning, I found the most beautiful shadow and I was so lucky to get the shot. Seeing all his photos really opened up my eyes to patterns, colors, shapes, negative space, all the things I really kept missing I think. While his website is not the most updated site, be sure and check out his stuff or even go to a Borders to get one of his books. It is well worth it. Thank you again so much Rei and Jay for coming to PC!

Since my hard drive died a few weeks ago, I lost all my bookmarked sites. Bummer! I had hundreds and hundreds of my favorite sites bookmarked. Since then, the ones I can remember I have been trying to save them again. Here is one I found the other day and I actually did get to meet the women at the National Stationary Show last year. I just love their stationary, and one place you can purchase it from is Chronicle Books. Peculiar Pair Press is the name of this delightful stationary company. They have been featured in Martha Stewart Living, Lucky Magazine, and Today’s Bride. Here is one of my favorite wedding invites
they did.

Be sure to check out their site. Also, one more thing. I found these on the Chronicle Books Website, and I think they are so cute. These “T is for Thank You” note cards are designed by Jennifer Muller of Lucky Tangerine Studio in Portland Maine.

You know me, I love invitations and stationary, so I always try to find something cool. Be sure to take a look at their site.

That’s all I have for now, but have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    May 8, 2008 5:12 pm

    Sorry to hear about your lost bookmarks. I’ve been using del.icio.us for the last several years for all my bookmarks, so as to guard against a dying hard drive. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

