Skip to content

It’s Been Too Long!

May 2, 2008

Man, it has been way too long since I have written on my blog. But to be honest, I am in the middle of my 1st Quarter at PC, and things are a little crazy. It seems like everyday is a really long one, and I am always thinking of what I need to do next. Not to mention, I FINALLY have my Internet working at my house, which is a huge savior!

First of all Lesson Learned, my hard drive crashed about a week ago, and luckily I had everything backed up! I was really lucky. But it sure has been a real pain re-installing everything. And then I think, well I will take that any day over loosing all my files.

School, Wow! I had no idea I would be this busy, but I am really learning so much. Two weeks ago I got the opportunity to go to the Atlanta Zoo to see Stefan Sagmeister speak. For those of you who don’t know who Sagmeister is, he is one of the TOP revolutionary designers of the world. He has worked for clients such as the Rolling Stones, Talking Heads, Adobe, AIGA, and many others. It was a fantastic presentation, and all I can say is he really is a genius. The few examples of his work he showed us were brilliant. Could you imagine being an intern for him? The other thing he talked about during the presentation was his new book, “Things I have Learned in My Life so Far.” It really is a neat book, and I would have bought it had I not been so poor that week. But you should really check out the website, and even buy the book. Here is a glimpse of the actual book, and one cool thing, every book has a different color, but they are all made the same so you can switch them around.

Isn’t it cool?

Also, last week we had the pleasure at PC of having Victor John Penner come speak. What an amazing and funny photographer. He is truly hilarious, and I really enjoyed his presentation. It is so neat to have all these awesome people come speak, because they inspire all of us in so many ways. Check out his stuff here.

It has been quite busy the past few weeks, and I have gone home to Knoxville a few times for some events and a wedding. I also attended my Dad’s semi-retirement party in Knoxville last weekend. That was really fun, and to see all those people show up to honor his career, it was so heartwarming. I know he had a great time. Congrats Dad! I am really happy for you! Here is a few pictures from the party.

It looks like that is about it. But one last thing. Check out this new really cool Map of Texas. Designer and Austin resident DJ Stout has created a “Texas Designer’s Map of the World” as a part of a promotion for Sappi Paper. I just love it, and I want to buy it!

That’s all for now!

One Comment leave one →
  1. courtney permalink
    May 5, 2008 10:23 pm

    CJ I love this Texas map, any idea where I can buy one? What is sappi paper?

Leave a Reply

