Skip to content

Home Sweet Home!

March 25, 2008

I have been in Knoxville now for a total of seven days. Which is the longest I have stayed here in a long time. I had some doctor’s appointments last week, and one this week so I have just been hanging out instead of driving back and forth to Atlanta. However, I have no complaints because I have had a blast! Last week I was actually in town and finally able to make the monthly girl’s night dinner, where we went to Pasta Trio in the Old City. They have really good food there, but of course, most of the dishes are pasta, so if you aren’t a pasta lover, there is not a whole lot of other things to choose from. It is funny that most of my outings have been involving dinner, but I guess its one way to sit and actually catch up with people. Thank goodness I am walking every day around Lakeshore with Lucy. Otherwise I might gain a whole bunch of weight while I am in town.

Friday night I went to my dear friend Leighann’s house. She and her husband had a great cookout, and I got to see a lot of people I haven’t seen or been able to catch up with in years. Of course, what would be a Friday night if you didn’t go out to a bar. So I headed on down to Toddy’s, one of my favorite little bars in Knoxville. I had a absolute blast, which I guess when you are having fun time flies, because I looked down at my clock at one point and it was 2 am. Oh my! I haven’t stayed out that late in a long long time. But hey, what the heck, it was fun.

Saturday night, I was very fortunate to be able to go to Karen and Andy’s new house for a dinner party with Courtney, Nick, Justin, Katy, and myself. After dinner we played Cranium, and Have you Seen It? I was terrible at both games, absolutely terrible. Good thing we had teams of four and not teams of two.

It is always fun coming in town, seeing old friends, old babysitters, old youth group leaders, people you really do think about and miss but sometimes there is not enough time in the day to catch up in the phone. There is something about home when you are able to run into people you know at the grocery store, or the hair salon. It is a real good feeling of comfort. I wouldn’t trade it for anything, but at the same time, I really do love Atlanta! The good news is, they are only three hours apart, so if I feel like being in my comfort zone, I can drive home at any time. There is nothing like Home Sweet Home!

Here is a picture of my girlfriends at Leighann’s cookout.
girlfriends

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 9, 2008 12:13 am

    hope you enjoy Knoxville.
    It is my home. I love it hear.
    Found your bog from tag surfer for Knoxville.

Leave a Reply

