Skip to content

The Joys of Moving!

March 12, 2008

Well I did it, I actually moved. It was this constant cinder block over my shoulder for weeks, constantly pounding my head on things I need to do, things I want to do before I leave, things I should do before I leave, ahh, talk about stress. My last day at Cyphers was the 28th, and everyone at work surprised me with a cake. It was really sweet. After work, I headed home to meet my dad who had driven all the way from Tennessee to help me move. Well, I had an idea this would happen. I knew my dad would get to my apartment and see all my stuff, and say, “I just don’t know how all this stuff is going to fit in the truck.” And he did! We played around with the measuring tape for a few minutes trying to figure out how we were going to load everything and fit all my furniture into the truck on Friday. However, the stress was getting to me, and I needed to leave for The Green Turtle to meet all my fellow coworkers for one last hurrah before moving. What a fun night! It was such a great get together before moving. I am really going to miss everyone I worked with. Each person was so different, and as a whole, we really made up a fun and energetic agency to work at. Here is a picture of my yummy cake from Maggie Moo’s, and the whole gang at The Green Turtle.

Cake

The gang

From left to right, myself, Garret, Danielle, Jason, Melissa, Jessica, Anna, and Luke
Garret used to work with us The Cyphers Agency. Garret was there for about 5 years, but I only got the opportunity to work with him for about 6 months or so. He now works at Orange Element in Baltimore.

Now back to the moving part. It went a lot better than I expected, and thank goodness Ben was gone the weekend I moved, because I had stuff everywhere. Thats the thing about moving, you keep finding all these little things you forgot to pack. It’s like, oh geez, I forgot to pack up food, oops, I forgot to pack the towels, it is just never ending. Things worked out pretty well. No car problems, which is almost unheard of with the Isaac family, no speeding tickets driving home, no pulled muscles, nothing got broken, so I could day things were in my favor with this move. I was really expecting something to happen, at least one thing. It’s quite a relief to get home safe and sound with no problems. Ben recommended two haulers his company uses to help me load furniture, and even though I didn’t want to pay someone to help, we really needed the help lifting. Ray and Bubba were their names, and man were they characters. Bubba was short and stumpy as Ray called him, so anytime Bubba looked like he might be having difficulties lifting something, Ray would say, “come on stumpy, quit being lazy, you can do it, you just chubby and need to loose a few pounds.” Ray was a little bit older, so anytime he lifted anything heavy, he would need a break for a few minutes. It was absolutely hilarious watching them. Here is a picture of my room when I started packing, and a picture of my room with just a few odds and ends left.

bedroom

bedroom after packing

Overall, things went very smoothly! I made it to Atlanta, unloaded everything, and I am getting moved into my new place. Atlanta, I think we are going to have a great time together!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2008 8:50 pm

    We miss you come back!!! Sounds like everything is going well for you. Best of luck!!!

  2. beaurt permalink
    March 12, 2008 8:52 pm

    Welcome to Atlanta! What part of town did you move to? It is a great city to live in. Lots of funs stuff to do every day except Tuesdays. I still haven’t found any fun things for Tuesday nights yet. Good luck!!

  3. March 13, 2008 11:47 am

    Good to hear you made it to ATL safely. Green Turtle was fun – and that’s a great picture! It was good to work with you, CJ, even if only for six months. I wish you the best of luck with the photography career. I hope you keep your portfolio online somewhere. Maybe Orange Element can use some of your photographs! Keep in touch…

    Garret Ohm
    http://www.orange-element.com/blog

Leave a Reply

