Skip to content

What a Great Sunday!

December 3, 2007

This weekend I experienced a really neat event, one that I will never forget. I have a good friend who works in the White House, and yesterday they needed volunteers for the Kennedy Center Honorees Event. So I said sure, why not? It will be fun, and I love a excuse to go to DC. So I trucked on down to DC, found myself a parking spot, walked to the White House gates in my cocktail dress and my high heels, and proceeded to go through security. And by the way, if you have never been to the White House during Christmas, I recommend it highly. While I didn’t get to see much of the decorations, what I did, was truly beautiful.

Once I arrived, I was assigned my one task for the night, which was right by the entry way to the event. So needless to say, I got to see most people coming to the event as they arrived. Cars would drive up, the personal drivers would drop off guests, and then head off. And as each person came in the White House, my mouth dropped everytime. I have never seen such beautiful gowns, and such amazing jewelry. I felt like I was watching the Emmy’s. In fact, I had a out of body sensation, like is this really happening to me? Am I really seeing this. I know I am not the best writer, so no words can explain how excited I was to be there. What is even more exciting, is I got to see famous people as they are coming in. Terrance Howard, Vanessa Williams, Christine Baranski, Martin Short, Ciarra, it just kept getting better. It was truly a great event to experience. And while I know I will never personally get invited to the Kennedy Center Honoree event, it was great to be able to see it while I can. What a day!!!! And thank you my dear sweet friend who let me volunteer!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

